Fremington

A hamlet, tucked between Grinton and Reeth, Fremington today is recognisable by the landmark of Draycott Hall in the lower part of this picturesque settlement and looking upward, the spectacular, craggy Fremington Edge, enticing walkers and cyclists to scale its heights. From this dominating and impressive hillside, views of Swaledale are breathtaking and memorable.

While exploring the area and surrounding hills, evidence of 17th and 18th century lead mine workings can be found, hinting at the importance and scale of this industry to the area in previous times.

It was the owner of many of these mines in the 18th century, Sir George Denys, who made his home at Draycott Hall. Adjoining it are the mine agent’s house and also the AD mine office, “AD” originating from the initials of Anna Maria Draycott, Sir George’s ancestor who had inherited the mines in 1760.

Draycott Hall and the homes surrounding it may be referred to as Low Fremington, while above just a short distance up the sloping hillside, High Fremington. Ascending these ancient lanes and tracks, a trained eye might see traces of the presence of Roman legions, including the remains of a Roman entrenchment crossing the Swale in parallel lines, running up Harkerside to the south and south-west.

This small, history-rich hamlet offers visitors opportunities to stay, walk in any direction on well marked footpaths, or visit the award-winning Dales Bike Centre for bike hire, information and refreshments after a busy day.

 

Services available in Fremington:

Swaledale

Courtesy of Leni Hatcher and the National Trust's Outdoor Nation Project