Healaugh

A delightfully sleepy hamlet just 1 mile west of Reeth, in days gone by Healaugh featured a school, chapel, post office and shop. Alas, nowadays the hamlet is just a pleasant place to rest and eat your packed lunch whilst sitting on the lichen-encrusted benches.

Snuggling below the prominent Calver Hill, the village name comes from the old English (heah +leah) meaning high clearing or wood. A babbling brook does, in fact, flow down the gill behind the village through a veritable arboretum. The original village was more likely higher up near Daggerstones and the other dwellings on the southern slopes of Calver Hill. < /p>

Records date back to the Domesday Book in 1086 and it is claimed there are remains of a hunting lodge said to have belonged to John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster. The village consists of about 45 dwellings and a working sheep farm.

Visitors are drawn to its simplicity and quirkiness. The telephone box has many visitors intrigued by its carpet, waste bin, fresh flowers and a donations box. Several stone troughs run with water fed from the hillside streams. The beautiful cobbled square and its bench are a welcome resting place for Duke of Edinburgh Award expedition groups and Coast to Coast walkers taking a breather before their final push to Reeth for the night. Nearby are a fine set of stepping stones across the Swale which make a circular walk possible from Reeth when the water levels allow.

 

Services available in Healaugh:

Swaledale

Courtesy of Leni Hatcher and the National Trust's Outdoor Nation Project